After Steven Finn knocked over the stumps whilst running to bowl, the MCC decide to bring in new rules.
England’s Steven Finn has caused a stir by repeatedly knocking the bails off when he finishes his run-up to bowl. Although Finn does this by accident, the MCC decided to review the situation so they can advise umpires on what to do.
From 1 October if the bowler breaks the stumps at his end during the act of delivery, a no-ball will be called and signalled by the umpire. This has been clarified by the MCC, which still retains worldwide responsibility for cricket’s Laws.
At present, there is no specific provision for what officials should to do when this happens, although the Laws allow the umpire to call and signal ‘dead ball’ if the on-strike batsman is distracted.
Finn has already been denied two international wickets, when the umpire has ruled ‘dead ball’ rather than raise his finger after the Middlesex paceman disturbed the bails with a kink in his knee as he approached the stumps.
The issue first came to light when Finn knocked over the stumps during last year’s second Test between England and South Africa at Headingley.
MCC’s Laws sub-committee – which includes former international umpire Simon Taufel and ICC chief executive David Richardson – discussed the issue and upon their recommendation the full MCC committee approved the law change.
However, matches at international level take place under playing conditions approved by the ICC and until the official Law change comes into effect on 1 October,the MCC have advised the ICC on what to do.
“[The ICC] may consider introducing a playing condition for international cricket to state that a no-ball should be called if the bowler breaks the stumps during the act of delivery,” the MCC was quoted on the ECB’s website.