The world No.1 could face disqualification from the Masters after an illegal drop shot.
Tiger Woods could be disqualified from the Masters in Augusta after claims the American took an illegal drop shot.
After finding the water on the 15th hole of the world’s most prestigious golf tournament, Woods then said he dropped the ball back into play two yards away from the original position.
This statement was made by the No.1 in his press conference at the end of day two.
“I went down to the drop area, that wasn’t going to be a good spot,” Woods was quoted in the Guardian.
“So I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further back.”
It is the fact that the 14-time major winner dropped the ball two yards away from where he should have that is causing the issue
The US Golf Association states that a player must take their drop; “as nearly as possible from the spot where the original ball was played.”
Woods signed for a one-under-par 71 round but according to the rules, if he did drop the ball two yards away he should have recorded a two-shot penalty – not the one shot he actually did.
The American is currently three strokes behind leader Jason Day as the players head into day three of the Masters.
If he is disqualified it will be the second sanction dished out in the tournament, after teenager sensation Guan Tianlang was given a one-stroke penalty for slow play.
Guan had been previously warned that he needed to speed his round up and the 14-year-old was eventually given his punishment on the 17th.
For Woods the prospect of disqualification is a very real one and many from the world of golf are speculating what the outcome will be.
“He may be liable from disqualification from the Masters and that’s what the officials will be discussing this morning,” said the BBC‘s golf correspondent Iain Carter.