Code’s boss says full inquiry will be launched.
The NRL was left red-faced after the Cronulla Sharks scored what should have been an illegal try in their finals clash with the North Queensland Cowboys at Allianz Stadium.
Instead of calling the sixth and final tackle in the first half, the on-ground offcials let the play for got one more tackle, which proved to be crucial as the Sharks got across the line.
Referee’s boss Daniel Anderson admitted the mistake soon after, but it proved to be even more crucial, as the Sharks went on to end the Cowboys’ season, winning 20-18.
NRL Head of Football Todd Greenberg released a statement soon after the game saying the code would be launching a full investigation into the embarrassing matter.
“We do not want to see mistakes like this made in any match, especially in a finals game, and we will be meeting with Daniel Anderson and the Match Officials to examine how this happened,” Greenberg said.
“What is most concerning is that there are checks and balances across the entire squad to safeguard against the referee making such a mistake.
“We don’t want this happening again.
“We can’t take any points away or change the result of the match due to such a decision but we do have to be able to reassure players and that this won’t happen again in any game.”