Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois was sent off to cap a miserable evening for the Blues, who were hammered 3-0 by Manchester City in the Premier League on Saturday.
Courtois was shown a straight red card for denying Fernandinho a clear goalscoring opportunity, before Sergio Aguero completed his hat-trick from the resultant penalty.
While referee Mike Dean was correct to dismiss Courtois at Stamford Bridge, the same offence next season is only likely to cost the goalkeeper a yellow card.
From the start of next term, a straight red will no longer be issued for denying a clear goalscoring opportunity in the penalty area if a genuine attempt has been made to win the ball.
However, deliberate ‘professional’ fouls will still result in an early shower. Therefore, it will be up to the referee to determine whether or not fouls were committed on purpose or not.
It seems pretty clear that Courtois did try to win the ball.
Nevertheless, judging by the ongoing chaos surrounding handball decisions, this rule change could cause lots of controversy when it comes into play!
Reckless Chelsea well beaten at home by Man City, Aguero’s second punishes tactical nativity
Chelsea’s vulnerability to pace exposed as Aguero fires City ahead in battle of dethroned champions